News & Events


Jan 27, 2020

The St. Louis County Bar Association has selected attorney Joyce Capshaw as the recipient of the 2020 Dudley C. Dunlop Distinguished Service Award and attorney Paul Brusati as the recipient of the 2020 Roy F. Essen Memorial Award for Outstanding Work as a Young Lawyer.

Ms. Capshaw concentrates her practice in family law and is a principal at Carmody MacDonald P.C. which she joined in 1982. She graduated from the University of Missouri School of Law in 1982 and was awarded their Order of Barristers in 2007. She has been on the annual list of top family law attorneys of Missouri & Kansas Super Lawyers® since 2016 and has been recognized by Best Lawyers® as one of the “Best Lawyers in America” for Family Law in the “Best Lawyers in America” annually since 2018. She is rated “AV” by Martindale-Hubbell® which is the highest possible rating, and was named “Missouri’s Best Divorce Attorney” by Missouri Lawyers Weekly in 2008.

Ms. Capshaw was the President of the St. Louis County Bar Association in 1994 after serving from 1988-1993 as the President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer and on the Executive Committee. She has been on the Board of Trustees of the University of Missouri Law School Foundation since 2014 for which she is currently Second Vice-President. She was a Special Representative for the Missouri Bar Region X Disciplinary Committee from 1991-2015. Ms. Capshaw was on the Caring for Kids Board of Directors from 2003-2012 and was a Charter Member. She was on the Make-A-Wish Foundation “Friends” Board of Directors from 2005-2010 and was a Charter Member, and was on the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Metropolitan St. Louis Board of Directors from 2001-2007. In 2009, Ms. Capshaw was presented with the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Metropolitan St. Louis ”Star Award – Unsung Hero”.

Paul Brusati is an associate in the Litigation practice group of Armstrong Teasdale LLP where he focuses on contract and commercial litigation defense and appellate practice in state and federal court. He has argued before the Missouri Court of Appeals and the Supreme Court of Missouri. In 2016, he joined Armstrong Teasdale after serving as a law clerk for one year to Judge Laura Denvir Stith of the Supreme Court of Missouri. He graduated from Saint Louis University School of Law in 2015.

Mr. Brusati is a member of the St. Louis County Bar Association and the National Italian American Bar Association. He volunteers for the Missouri Coalition for the Right to Counsel.  He is a member of the Board of Directors of People with Purpose and volunteers with the Catholic Legal Assistance Ministry.

The Dudley C. Dunlop Distinguished Service Award is an honor conferred on an attorney who has provided distinguished and unselfish service to the organized bar and the community.  The recipient must also show constant devotion to the highest principles and practices of the legal profession and symbolize the highest standards of integrity, honor and unselfish service.

The Roy F. Essen Memorial Award for Outstanding Work as a Young Lawyer is an honor conferred on an attorney in recognition of excellence and distinguished work as a lawyer, distinguished service to the organized bar, and outstanding service to the community. The recipient must be under the age of 40 years.

The St. Louis County Bar Association, founded in 1931, is a 600 plus member, non-profit professional organization for attorneys and judges. It provides professional development, education and service programs for the legal community and supports the St. Louis County judiciary and its staff. The current president is Matt Reh of Armstrong Teasdale  LLP.  The president-elect is Matthew A. Radefeld of Frank, Juengel & Radefeld.  Mr. Radefeld will present these two awards at a dinner reception on February 1, 2020.


« Back to News & Events